Never sell an autistic kid short…Never

A Teaching Aside

Over the last few days I have been working with an autistic adolescent with their state testing. I have been proctoring a state writing test requiring this student write two essays. This has been a very rough experience for this student and I am happy to report we both survived!

The other morning this student showed me their new reading book, My Dog Does my Homework. The student announced out of the blue that they were going to write their own classroom poetry and started to wand rover to the pile of the loose paper. I handed them a pencil, interested to see what they would come up with.

This was the result (the similarities to Shel Silverstein are both hilarious and inspiring!)


Cover Page


Page 1


Page 2


Page 3


Page 4


Page 5


Needless to say, never underestimate anyone with autism. If what you see is a disorder, you are likely missing brilliance. The art and the poetry in this is absolute genius, particularly given the age of the author.


I feel grateful that they felt it was okay to share with me, and that he and his family felt it okay for me to share it with you. Please enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Never sell an autistic kid short…Never

I would love to hear your thoughts on this!

